Recent reading

Nick discovered recently that Bill Gates claims to read at least 50 books per year. He certainly reviews a lot! Nick is trying to calculate how many he reads, but that got me thinking – I’m sure I can’t be too far off 50. Although mine are primarily fiction and probably shorter.

But regardless, I read a lot, and it’s hard to keep track. So I’m going to try to use this to keep track and to review at least some of the books that I’ve read recently. Think of this as an intermittent series. And if you’re interested, my current Amazon wish list – ALL kindle books – is here.

For starters, here is a list of books I read on our 10 day holiday in Spain. Short immediate comments now, full reviews to follow.

  • The Corrections, Jonathan Franzen – I found this quite hard work actually. I think the style is quite intense and that’s intentional.
  • We Are Not Ourselves, Matthew Thomas – one of my holiday highlights, totally unexpected but a very good read.
  • The Election Notebook, Nick Robinson – can’t believe I waited so long to read this. Wonderful book, great insights.
  • Stay with Me, Ayobami Adebayo – this was a free copy from NetGalley. It’s a wonderful book about life in Nigeria.
  • Small Great Things, Jodi Picault – another one from NetGalley. When I read this, I forgot it was Jodi Picault. I love her books, but this was something else. I’d highly recommend it when it’s published.
  • The Things We Wish Were True, Marybeth Mayhew Whalen – a lovely book about suburban American life. Relatively light reading with a darker undertone.
  • The Other Hand, Chris Cleave – oof, I have mixed feelings about this which need a longer review. Bits were very good, bits were very superficial!
About Juliette

Working in public affairs and eating my away around London whilst planning a wedding and travel...
This entry was posted in Books, Fiction, History, Literary Fiction, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

